The Millennial Question by John Stevenson


The Millennial Question by John Stevenson

THE MILLENNIAL QUESTION

Does the Bible teach that there will be a future 1000 year millennial kingdom on earth? Instead of beginning with Revelation 20, I would like to go back and see what Jesus and the apostles taught concerning the Kingdom.

another quote from article:

‘In John 6, Jesus mentions that ALL believers will be raised up at the same time –the last day.

“And this is the Father’s will which has sent me, that of ALL which he has given me I should lose nothing, but should raise it up again AT THE LAST DAY. 40 And this is the will of him that sent me, that EVERY ONE which sees the Son, and believes on him, may have everlasting life: and I will raise him up AT THE LAST DAY.” (John 6:39-40).

“No man can come to me, except the Father which has sent me draw him: and I will raise him up AT THE LAST DAY” (John 6:44).

“WHOEVER eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up AT THE LAST DAY” (John 6:54).

If ALL believers are to be raised up on the last day, and Jesus says this is the case, then it stands to reason that there will not be several different resurrections of believers separated by a thousand years. Indeed, if the last day is really the last day, then we cannot postulate a few more days to follow, let alone a thousand years.’

read the whole article by Pastor John Stevenson here:

http://www.angelfire.com/nt/theology/Amil.html



About laura754

Saved by His undeserved mercy
This entry was posted in Bible Related Topics, Bible Web Sites, Links on Amillennialism, Scripture, The Last Day, Web Sites-God Honoring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Millennial Question by John Stevenson

  1. Diane says:

    This was really good, Laura, thank you. It was clear and easy to understand for a beginner like me. I am now starting to get that satan being bound does not mean powerless…or that there is no more evil, but that the gospel can go forth where it had not been able to before. The first and second resurrection charts were helpful too. Things like this are so much easier to read than Riddlebarger’s book, at least for me anyway. Thanks!! 🙂

  2. laura754 says:

    You are welcome! 🙂
    I also liked how easy it was to understand.
    To me that’s a sign of a good teacher.

  3. Kari says:

    Arrggh, Laura,

    I had no idea that you were bloggin’ away over here again! I’m sorry I haven’t stopped by until I got your email.

    That’s what got me too, about Satan being bound. I thought the same, that he was powerless and I went into a tailspin. I was like, if amillenialism is right, and Satan is bound, I cannot bear to see what things will be like when he is loosed for the season. Whew. This makes much more sense.

    Easy to understand is right! The Lord makes things simple for us. My ex-pastor’s wife once gave me a 300 page book explaining why women are allowed to be Pastor’s. I threw it in the trash. I said if it takes you 300 pages to twist scripture enough to make God say what you want, then you better run from it and fast! LOL

    God Bless Girls!

  4. Kari says:

    I’m still torn between historic premil and amil 😦 They are almost identicle really, except one has Christ reigning on earth for 1000 years, the other kicks off perfect eternity from the get go. I am stuck on the 1000 years being literal vs. spiritual. There are some other points that I am ironing out with Dawnmarie too. The Lord won’t leave us in the dark if we keep pressing into His Word!!

    The way I see it from a historic premil view is that those left on earth on the last day are gathered to Christ to avoid God’s wrath on the earth. It says when Christ gathers them, they will be changed in a twinkling of an eye, so to me that means we are transfigured at that point and given our resurrected bodies. God then pours out His wrath on the earth, only those sealed are passed over. Everyone not sealed is killed. Christ’s earthly reign begins with only the saints with resurrected bodies.

    I could go the amil way, too, though. It really doesn’t make that much of a difference. Either way the persecuted are finally avenged and sorrow is done away with, we get to physically reign with Christ and just being in His shadow will be the most glorious day EVER!!! It’s coming soon girls!

  5. Pearl says:

    Kari’s view above corresponds with my understanding perfectly.

    In light of amillenialism, I’m wondering about the “mark of the beast”. Is it considered symbolic, too?

    From my limited understanding, the best case scenario in the long run seems to be the amillenial view!

    And, agreeing with Kari’s view above, regardless, the church will be persecuted until the very end. We ought to expect it and count it all joy when we are hated for His sake. The best we can do, no matter what view is the correct one, is to walk in Him, growing in the grace and knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

    Even so, come quickly Lord Jesus!

  6. laura754 says:

    I don’t think THE mark of the beast is symbolic at all.
    but since all people are lost in the first place it doesn’t matter that they have a mark of the beast.

    But I do think there is significance to the end times and a beast and a literal mark.

    The apostate church is running straight into the arms of the beast system, the CC.

    And I do think the apostate leaders will be pushing for a symbol of solidarity.

    hence a ‘mark’.

    They will be part of those who bring on the fulfillment of a literal mark, in the last days, while Satan unbounded, persecutes the sheep during a final division between wheat and tares, sheep and goats.

    God will be faithful to keep His own during those upcoming days.

Leave a Reply

