Why I Continue to Use the King James Version~Dean Gotcher


http://www.authorityresearch.com/ARTICLES_Other/Source%20of%20the%20King%20James%20Bible.htm

article by Dean Gotcher

which has info and links and book suggestions

here is a quote of his from this short but deep article:

‘I am not “King James Only,” although I have many friends who are.  I am Textus Receptus only.  Listen to the following audios by James Borchert for a better understanding of the difference: Part 1 and Part 2.   (If you can not play them directly, save them to file and play them later.) ‘ unquote

About laura754

Saved by His undeserved mercy
This entry was posted in Apostasy, Bible Related Topics, Books, Christian Books & Publishers, Compromise, Devious, Diaprax, Evangelicalism, Quotes, Scripture, Web Sites-God Honoring and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Why I Continue to Use the King James Version~Dean Gotcher

  1. laura754 says:

    I listened to the two parter that was linked here in Dean Gotcher’s article. Really good.

  2. dawnmarie4 says:

    Hey Laura! Help. I can’t listen to part I. Do you have the direct link by any chance? I really liked part II. Definitely worth a listen!

  3. dawnmarie4 says:

    Got it!

  4. Pingback: Why I Continue to Use the King James Version~Dean Gotcher (via One Living Hope) « Take A Look

  5. laura754 says:

    glad you were able to get it dawn.
    I really loved this 2 parter.

  6. dawnmarie4 says:

    It turned out my AOL was hanging up. I tried to find the sermon on other places. Was hoping maybe sermon audio or another website would have it in a different format or something, but after not finding at sermon audio, I said…self…why don’t you try on internet explorer. So I did. For some reason my internet explorer isn’t working at all. Then I said self…try firefox. That finally worked. Wheew. And then I reblogged it for today. Very good.

  7. Kari says:

    Thanks for this Laura! This has been so helpful to me in my “investigations” lately. I had always avoided this topic because James White is so adament about the King James Bible being a non-issue, but the Lord kept pushing me to look into this and wow, it really has put a few pieces of the puzzle together for me. Especially taking note of the “corrections” that were made. Kit stumbled on a pretty important one in Ezekial about where the end time horses would go. It’s on my blog. Another one is the deletion of the scriptures taling about how those with the Apolstolic gifts would be able to drink poison or get by snakes and not die. This has been deleted in the newer Bible because the “Church” wants to promote Spiritual Gifts in order to justify adding to scripture, claiming apostleship, speaking ex-cathedra, prophesying, etc.

    Very interesting!!

  8. laura754 says:

    😦
    James W. thinks its a non issue?! I had no idea.
    I find that strange.

  9. laura754 says:

    and that one that Kit found: very interesting!! I read it that on your blog last week I think. DOn’t even know what to say about that.

  10. Kari says:

    I know, now that I am seeing what’s going on here, I find it strange too. He actually debates King James people all of the time. Now I am kind of scratching my head, you know?

  11. dawnmarie4 says:

    I’m scratching my head about everything right now guys. Look. Isn’t this plain as day??? We are missing who art in heaven, thy will be done on heaven as in earth and deliver us from evil. So…are these words important or not???? That is my question.

    Luke 11 (King James Version)

    Luke 11
    1And it came to pass, that, as he was praying in a certain place, when he ceased, one of his disciples said unto him, Lord, teach us to pray, as John also taught his disciples.

    2And he said unto them, When ye pray, say, Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done, as in heaven, so in earth.

    3Give us day by day our daily bread.

    4And forgive us our sins; for we also forgive every one that is indebted to us. And lead us not into temptation; but deliver us from evil.

    NASB

    2And He said to them, “(A)When you pray, say:
    ‘[a]Father, hallowed be Your name.
    Your kingdom come.
    3’Give us (B)each day our daily bread.
    4’And forgive us our sins,
    For we ourselves also forgive everyone who (C)is indebted to us.
    And lead us not into temptation.'”

    ESV

    (C) “Father,(D) hallowed be(E) your name.(F) Your kingdom come. 3(G) Give us(H) each day our daily bread,[b] 4and(I) forgive us our sins,
    for we ourselves forgive everyone who is indebted to us.
    And(J) lead us not into temptation.”

  12. laura754 says:

    getting ready for work tonight, then off tomorrow night. I only nap when I get home and am then off that night.
    so I will return tomorrow afternoon or evening.

    I personally think this is a very important ‘issue’.
    why would it be a non issue for there to be tampering with the Word of God?

    I have another post to put up to add to this conflict. I hope to do this in a min. if it takes too long
    then I will do it after I return home tomorrow morning before nappy time. 🙂

  13. Kari says:

    That is a biggy, it is just a small step to the Message, “As above, so below” replacing “In Earth as it is in Heaven.”

    Remember how important it will be in the end times to ask God to deliver us from evil? Now that is excluded? Something is soooo not right here!!

    Also, remember when the apostles reported to Jesus that they could not cast out a demon and Jesus responded that this type is only cast out by prayer and fasting? In the new version, the fasting part is gone.

    I’ve got that movie about the Bible on my blog as well that I think answers some questions as well. I have an aricle coming out this weekend about it too.

    Look, if you destroy the Word, then you destroy Jesus. Plain and simple. Satan is really pushing God’s hand with this one. There is no way that Jesus won’t be coming back soon if we are at the point where we are messing with “The Word” Himself. I mean, I know that the Catholic church has been messing with the Bible for a long time, but now, all Christians are replacing their Bibles with these cut and paste Bibles. Soon, girls, soon. This is really serious.

  14. laura754 says:

    I totally agree. this is very serious. And when you go through a ‘Christian’ book store these days, it very hard to find the KJV, or even the NASB.
    try it sometime and see how many of those perversions they are trying to sell.
    soon you will only get the KJV on Ebay, used.

  15. Pearl says:

    At the dollar stores, you can find the KJ for about that much! God always finds a way, even through those who think His Word is worthless.

  16. dawnmarie4 says:

    Guys…I just wanted to point out something else with the Lord’s prayer…it really was the part that bothered me the most…

    How do I re-phrase that. It all bothers me, but to take out this part????

    THY WILL BE DONE! THEY TOOK OUT THEY WILL BE DONE!!!

    Now about earth as it is in heaven…can’t find that anywhere. When it is mentioned, it is in the KJV and it says “as in heaven, so on earth.” I double checked in my 1611 KJV just to make sure that the one on line hadn’t been “updated”. It definitely says as in heaven, so on earth. I had always been taught to say on earth as it is in heaven…so where did that phrase come from? An earlier version? Tyndale maybe? Your saying the same thing regardless, but I’m curious because I just assumed that’s how the KJV read. Maybe I’ve read where it started before, but right now, I can’t remember.

  17. dawnmarie4 says:

    I love it Pearl! The KJV for 1$. Yup, God always finds a way.

  18. laura754 says:

    Dawn, this is something to be checked, for sure. I am going to look in my greek interlinear.
    do you have one?

  19. dawnmarie4 says:

    I don’t. I use e-sword though. Here’s the word used for will in that passage…

    G2307
    θέλημα
    thelēma
    thel’-ay-mah
    From the prolonged form of G2309; a determination (properly the thing), that is, (actively) choice (specifically purpose, decree; abstractly volition) or (passively) inclination: – desire, pleasure, will.

  20. dawnmarie4 says:

    Ands here’s heaven and earth…so the words are there…

    G3772
    οὐρανός
    ouranos
    oo-ran-os’
    Perhaps from the same as G3735 (through the idea of elevation); the sky; by extension heaven (as the abode of God); by implication happiness, power, eternity; specifically the Gospel (Christianity): – air, heaven ([-ly]), sky.

    G1093
    γῆ
    gē
    ghay
    Contracted from a primary word; soil; by extension a region, or the solid part or the whole of the terrene globe (including the occupants in each application): – country, earth (-ly), ground, land, world.

  21. laura754 says:

    you know, I was at our Dollar General two days ago. I do remember seeing KJV bibles! and no other kind. Maybe the owner is a believer!

  22. dawnmarie4 says:

    Found it.

    Matthew 6 KJV

    9After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.

    10Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.

    11Give us this day our daily bread.

    12And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.

    13And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen.

  23. dawnmarie4 says:

    Sorry Matthew 6 is the reference. The NASB has a footnote under the Luke 11 passage that states:

    “Later manuyscripts add phrased from Matthew 6:9-13 to make the two passages closely similar….”

    Now, what do we do with that?

  24. laura754 says:

    Dawn, that’s very, very interesting.
    This is when I think it’s good to go to an interlinear to get to the actual translation.

  25. laura754 says:

    changed it to ‘6’

  26. laura754 says:

    got some chores then off to work. will think on this.
    thanks Dawn for your research on this.

Leave a Reply

