Believe


John 6:29

Jesus answered and said unto them, this is the work of God, that ye believe on Him whom He hath sent.

John 8:24

“Therefore I said to you that you will die in your sins; for unless you believe that I am He, you will die in your sins.”

Matt 12:21

‘And in His name the Gentiles will trust.’

Acts 16:30-31

30 And brought them out, and said, sirs, what must I do to be saved?

‘They said, Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved, you and your household.”

Acts 26:15-18

15 ‘And I said, who art thou, Lord? and he said, I am Jesus whom thou persecutest;

16 But rise, and stand upon thy feet; for I have appeared unto thee for this purpose, to make thee a minister and a witness both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things in the which I will appear unto thee;

17 Delivering thee from the people, and from the Gentiles, unto whom now I send thee,

18 To open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me.’

1 John 3:23

And this is his commandment, That we should believe on the name of his Son Jesus Christ, and love one another, as he gave commandment.

1 John 5:13

These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God; that ye may know that ye have eternal life, and that ye may believe on the name of the Son of God.

About laura754

Saved by His undeserved mercy
This entry was posted in Scripture and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Believe

  1. Pearl says:

    Good selection, Laura. Here’s one of my favorite ones:

    “Then said they unto him, What shall we do, that we might work the works of God?Jesus answered and said unto them, This is the work of God, that ye believe on him whom he hath sent.” John 6:28 & 29

    That’s it! Not of works, lest any man should boast!

  2. Kari says:

    This has always been interesting to me:

    ‘They said, “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved, you and your household.” Acts 16:31

    I think there is another passage about a wife sanctifying her husband too. I’ll see if I can find it. Here it is:

    1Co 7:14 For the unbelieving husband is sanctified by the wife, and the unbelieving wife is sanctified by the husband: else were your children unclean; but now are they holy.

    I always ponder over this when I get to it. What can it mean?

  3. laura754 says:

    wish I could remember Kari. I once heard John MacArthur talk about that.
    I know ‘holy’ is set apart. We know that the unbelieving are not saved.
    yet they are set apart because of the believer. and where it goes from there,
    I don’t remember. 😦

  4. laura754 says:

    http://www.gty.org/Resources/Sermons/1829_Divine-Guidelines-for-Marriage

    here is a link that covers that passage within a sermon by John MacArthur.

  5. laura754 says:

    Kari, IF you do listen, give me the answer. I know I won’t have time to listen to this today. you know, if there is a transcript I will go over that real quick after lunch.

    I remember talking about this topic with a cousin of mine. Her church believes that the babies of a Christian couple has a ‘better chance’ of becoming saved if they are baptized and raised by Christian parents. I don’t agree. but maybe I am wrong.

    But almost no one that I know personally that are Christians, were raised by any Christian parents, yet they have been saved as young people.

    That church is a reformed one. So it goes with their theology. Kinda Catholic like IMO.

  6. Kari says:

    I’ll listen to this now Laura and give you the lowdown. My impression is just that Paul is saying that even though we, as believers, may live in households with unbelievers, that they Lord still sanctifies us (the believers). It’s still curious, though and I can see how people might run with this waaaaay too far, even though other scriptures clearly lay out the conditions for salvation.

  7. dawnmarie4 says:

    And Amen.

  8. dawnmarie4 says:

    I’ve always understood that to mean that people who are around true christians reap the benefits of their lives. Their lifestyles and ways should reflect Jesus Christ, so these people have someone living in their home that is living proof of Jesus Christ and His salvation. How can one living with a believing spouse or parent not be affected by it. It’s like with Lunice’s son or any other kiddo who is around believing parents. They can’t escape the example of their lives and they can’t excape their prayers and those things have an influence on that person. Now sanctification is not salvation in these folks, but it is better behavior at the very least…and hopefully, seeing the examples of the parent or spouse living in Christ plants a seed that grows and grows until one day, these kiddos or spouse finally come to saving faith in Jesus Christ.

  9. laura754 says:

    That was a very good explanation! thanks Dawnmarie! 🙂

  10. dawnmarie4 says:

    I don’t know if it’s the right one, but it just makes sense to me…

  11. Kari says:

    Yes, this is pretty much what Johnny Mac’s summary of it was as well. We need to keep our light in the household so that they will more likely come to Christ. So, even if your unsaved husband wants to leave, you should fight it tooth and nail because you may be his only hope for experiencing the light of Christ. It’s all very interesting.

  12. dawnmarie4 says:

    Excape! Bahahahaa.

Leave a Reply

