C.S. Lewis-Exposed for Heresy; Why Do Churches Promote Him?


By Laura

(changed the title because it shows up wrong on my screen and in email notice)

I am really tired of C.S. Lewis being promoted by professing Christians!

http://www.jesus-is-savior.com/Wolves/cs_lewis-exposed.htm

link to main article

then this quote below is in that site under C. S. Lewis the Heretic:

We’re saved by works according to Lewis

“There are three things that spread the Christ-life to us: baptism, belief, and that mysterious action which different Christians call by different names–Holy Communion, the Mass, the Lord’s Supper” (pp.62,63).  Titus 3:5 Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to his mercy he saved us, by the washing of regeneration, and renewing of the Holy Ghost; Added to this he says that in the next life “there will be every occasion for being the sort of people that we can become only as the result of doing such acts here” (p.63) [Emphasis added.]  So, he literally believed that this was the “only” way to be saved. Lewis is also wiping out any difference between the Lord’s supper of true Christians and the Roman Mass. Jesus told us clearly that it is to be in remembrance of me. 1Corinthians 11:24. He lumps all beliefs about it into one and claims it is part of salvation as well as calling Roman Catholics “Christians”!

end quote from that site.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lewis was promoted at Christian Family Camp and I was very uncomfortable with that.

In fact I am so tired of the Christian version of ‘family’ camp in general.

At the last ‘Christian’ Family Camp I attended  in 2006

they showed one of those movies based on C.S. Lewis’ books.


During camp I spent some time watching and listening to the Sunday school lesson that was

being done to the kids in grade school age.

( I say ‘done to them’ for a reason).

It was based on psychology.

I thought the  group teaching activity to be very inappropriate as it

was requiring the public exposure of self critical private thoughts to the group.

(Read a bit about communism and their group activities and their public self critical public confession

time and you will know what I am talking about!)

To help the apostasy along, they used songs about God and the devil that were

very, very  unbiblical.

I don’t want to segway just now on that. That is for another post.

I would like to know this:

Why do parents subject their kids to strangers?

And to camps that promote heretics?

Just because it’s ‘Family’ camp,

we can trust the volunteers that were picked by the camp staff?

NO!

Why do parents sit apart from their kids at ‘FAMILY’ camp and never check to see what

the kids are being brainwashed by?

Huh?

I obtained a copy of the material from one of the stranger/teachers of the kids.

It confirmed what I suspected. It was garbage brainwashing material from Willow Creek.

Now, we had gone every year, to family camp, for about 4 years. I also went to the yearly

ladies retreat.

During our last year at the church associated with this camp I was getting uncomfortable

with the teachings and activities from this camp.

Now, previous to this particular family camp experience we had left the church associated with

that denomination.

So I was on high alert mentally and spiritually to be  careful of what was being taught.

You would be interested to know that there  is a family that we always went to camp with.

They are still friends of ours. They had gone to this church and church camp for many years

before my family and I started at that church.

When we first started going to the church they invited us to the next available family camp.

Family camp is on Memorial weekend and Labor Day weekends.

The ladies retreat is every fall.  I enjoyed them all, up to the year before  we left the church.

After the lesson I told our friends my concerns about the Sunday school lesson the kids were getting.

They didn’t seem to understand! I told them then I don’t want my daughter going to this again.

They went again to family camp and invited my daughter. I said no way. I reminded my friend of

the lesson they had and can’t see how it’s ok for them to go. They went. Because it’s tradition.

Now, they had already started  going to a new church after both of our families and others had fled our other church.

I was not comfortable with the new one they were going to when I had visited.

Because  I saw signs of the same crap coming in. My friends are not so discerning.

Among the good that is at that church, is the poison.

They are busy with their lives and now are happy to be in a traditional church that isn’t as far down the broad road as the other church we all fled from.

They don’t look closely enough to see the problems because they want to be in a church so bad that they are closing their eyes to what is obviously carefully calculated deception.

I did go to a ladies banquet with my girlfriend at their new church last year. I was appalled.

The speaker very slyly and very subtly introduced breath prayers! My friend didn’t hear it.

I suppose she looked away and looked at her daughter, who had come with her and had other

thoughts on her mind, for a moment.

I repeated to my friend, after it was over, what the lady said.  She said she didn’t hear it.

I told her husband. He talked to her. Then he got back to me and said that she didn’t hear that being said.

Implying it probably didn’t get said. And of course he defended the elders and all by saying they wouldn’t allow anything bad to come in.

Whatever.

I know what I heard.

I told them both I no longer want to be invited to anything the ladies are doing.

Just leave me out.

Christians are sometimes doing the right thing by leaving churches that are no longer safe to go

to because of blatant in your face apostasy.

Like this family did when we all ran from the former church.

BUT, then we long for the garlic!

We want to have life in Egypt again.

We think we can have a bit of poultry when the Lord wants us to be on a Manna diet!

The professing visible traditional church in America and around the world, is on life support.

Which is ARTIFICIAL life!

Don’t we want the TRUE life that comes only from Jesus?

The false visible church is on life support,

we let our kids think that’s what the church is,

and we cry over it

and plot out ways to force it to breathe and look alive!

Why?

The family members don’t want to do the hard thing.

(repent, and obey God and be separate from the unclean thing)

They are willing to compromise in order to ‘have’ church.

You know why?

Church is their idol.

Tradition is an idol.

Habits of attending entertaining family camps are  an idol.

Let the dead bury the dead church.

We are called to be separate from the world and all of it’s FALSE ways.

And today that means to be separate from the visible church

if

it is on the broad road to hell!

It’s that clear.

A visible church is on the broad road or the narrow road.

One or the other.

It’s leading you into what the Word teaches,

or what the world teaches.

The signs are easy to spot

if you LOVE truth and

HATE every false way.


About laura754

Saved by His undeserved mercy
This entry was posted in Compromise, Devious, Diaprax, Evangelicalism, Quotes, Universalism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to C.S. Lewis-Exposed for Heresy; Why Do Churches Promote Him?

  1. lynnylou says:

    “They are willing to compromise in order to ‘have’ church.” ~ thanks for this article Laura. It was very timely as my husband & I tried a church for 2 weeks and….need I say more! What you’ve written answers it exactly!

  2. lynnylou says:

    P.S. – I read a book by CS Lewis years ago about pain & death I think, in which he spoke a bit about his wife. But in this book he mentioned prayers for the dead & I was quite shocked as I didn’t then know he was very Catholic oriented. JRR Tolkein (Lord of the Rings) was one of his best friends & a Catholic. Lewis promotes universalist concepts in several books. I naively gave my son The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe when he was about 9 & he has since told me it gave him nightmares. I guess it is another case of knowing what these people are really promoting – what their true beliefs are & do they line up with Scripture.

  3. kittykit says:

    Isn’t it funny what we will all believe just cuz our church calls it good? It’s really amazing. It’s all very depressing as well…as we find out ourselves the truth about lots of things our churches tell us are right.

  4. laura754 says:

    I read somewhere that it’s not C.S. Lewis who promoted his books as a source of theology. He wrote them because he is a writer. Plain and simple. Somehow, those who love error latched onto these stories and began to see ‘truth’ in what is just a story.
    Just shows that for some the Word is not enough to teach us what we need to know about God, Jesus, salvation, etc.

    Unless a child is too young for the story, they are just entertainment. Not my kind. But these were not intended for learning spiritual things.

    Lewis is just being used by those who look for ways to subvert the Bible and it’s use for teaching everything we need for knowing Him, doing His will and growing in godliness.

    II Tim 3:16-17
    All scripture is inspired by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness; so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work.

    but for those who are unbelieving and need other sources for this adequacy this will address that:
    Ephesians 4:17-25
    17 so this I say, and affirm together with the Lord, that you walk no longer just as the Gentiles also walk, in the futility of their mind,
    18 being darkened in their understanding, excluded from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them, because of the hardness of their heart;
    19 and they, having become callous, have given themselves over to sensuality for the practice of every kind of impurity with greediness.
    20 But you did not learn Christ in this way,
    21 if indeed you have heard Him and have been taught in Him, just as truth is in Jesus,
    22 that, in reference to your former manner of life, you LAY ASIDE the old self, which is being corrupted in accordance with the lusts of DECEIT,
    23 and that you be renewed in the spirit of your mind,
    24 and put on the new self, which in the likeness of God has been created in righteousness and holiness of the truth.
    25 Therefore, laying ASIDE ALL FALSEHOOD, SPEAK TRUTH each one of you with his neighbor, for we are members of one another.
    AMEN?!

  5. laura754 says:

    lynnylou, I think you are talking about ‘A Grief Observed’?
    Anyone can write whatever they want. In countries which prize freedom of speech, that’s great. But that doesn’t mean everything written with a spiritual tone has been aligned with Bible teachings. I know that you know that. I know that.

    But many professing Christian leaders are embracing books from authors who have not been saved. And these leaders are as much a problem as the books they are pushing on their flocks.

    This is another reason it’s not such a good idea to ‘go’ to church.
    Besides, we ARE the church.
    The body of Christ must be separate from every false way.

    In the Lords timing, we who have left the physical buildings will find one another and gather.

    Hope it’s soon!

  6. laura754 says:

    Kit, I know what you mean.
    for the longest time I just blindly went along. Happily doing most of whatever the pastor promoted.
    I just quietly bit my tongue if it was something to do with the local Catholic church. I just figured, I won’t take part, but I guess THEY can.!!
    foolish reasoning!!

    I just couldn’t think for myself back then. I wanted so to not see the chink in the armor of my precious pastor. LOL

    But God….. Praise Him for His infinite compassion and mercy and faithful leading.

  7. lynnylou says:

    Sadly, as with the book The Shack, CS Lewis’ books are being used for theological purposes. Therefore, they are dangerous whether CS Lewis meant it or not. I think the author of The Shack though, meant to put the theology in its pages!

  8. kittykit says:

    Yeah…the writer of the shack meant it. He’s just a flat out false teacher. Fiction or not. Below is from Michael Youssef. It’s a list of at least 13 false doctrines embraced in The Shack. He then gives scripture refuting the false doctrine after each point.

    1. God the Father was crucified with Jesus.

    Because God’s eyes are pure and cannot look upon sin, the Bible says that God would not look upon His own beloved Son as He hung on the Cross, carrying our sins (Habakkuk 1:13; Matthew 27:45).

    2. God is limited by His love and cannot practice justice.

    The Bible declares that God’s love and His justice are two sides of the same coin — equally a part of the personality and the character of God (Isaiah 61:8; Hosea 2:19).

    3. On the Cross, God forgave all of humanity, whether they repent or not. Some choose a relationship with Him, but He forgives them all regardless.

    Jesus explained that only those who come to Him will be saved (John 14:6).

    4. Hierarchical structures, whether they are in the Church or in the government, are evil.

    Our God is a God of order (Job 25:2).

    5. God will never judge people for their sins.

    The Word of God repeatedly invites people to escape from the judgment of God by believing in Jesus Christ, His Son (Romans 2:16; 2 Timothy 4:1-3).

    6. There is not a hierarchical structure in the Godhead, just a circle of unity.

    The Bible says that Jesus submitted to the will of the Father. This doesn’t mean that one Person is higher or better than the other; just unique. Jesus said, “I came to do the will of Him who sent me. I am here to obey my Father.” Jesus also said, “I will send you the Holy Spirit” (John 4:34, 6:44, 14:26, 15:26).

    7. God submits to human wishes and choices.

    Far from God submitting to us, Jesus said, “Narrow is the way that leads to eternal life.” We are to submit to Him in all things, for His glory and because of what He has accomplished for us (Matthew 7:13-15).

    8. Justice will never take place because of love.

    The Bible teaches that when God’s love is rejected, and when the offer of salvation and forgiveness is rejected, justice must take place or God has sent Jesus Christ to die on the cross for nothing (Matthew 12:20; Romans 3:25-26).

    9. There is no such a thing as eternal judgment or torment in hell.

    Jesus’ own description of hell is vivid … it cannot be denied (Luke 12:5, 16:23).

    10. Jesus is walking with all people in their different journeys to God, and it doesn’t matter which way you get to Him.

    Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life, and no one will come to the Father but by me” (John 14:6).

    11. Jesus is constantly being transformed along with us.

    Jesus, who dwells in the splendor of heaven, sits at the right hand of God, reigning and ruling the universe. The Bible says, “In Him there is no change, for He is yesterday, today, and forever” (Hebrews 11:12, 13:8; James 1:17).

    12. There is no need for faith or reconciliation with God because everyone will make it to heaven.

    Jesus said, “Only those who believe in me will have eternal life” (John 3:15, 3:36, 5:24, 6:40).

    13. The Bible is not true because it reduces God to paper.

    The Bible is God-breathed. Sure, there were many men through 1,800 years who put pen to paper (so to speak), each from different professions and different backgrounds, but the Holy Spirit infused their work with God’s words. These men were writing the same message from Genesis to Revelation. If you want to read more about the place of Christ in the Scripture, read “We Preach Christ” (2 Timothy 3:16).

  9. laura754 says:

    Thank you Kit!
    that was great!!

    Lynnylou-
    I see what you mean about it being dangerous.
    It’s misused, on purpose. And today it’s a rare
    person that knows the truth behind C.S. Lewis.

    That alone makes it a ready tool for the purposes of deception.

    You know, you just can’t keep up with all the devices that are subtle tools of deception. I know I can’t.

  10. sueliz1 says:

    Just a side note: I attended a VERY Catholic university…the book store was LOADED with CS Lewis.. 😉 I think he was a hop, skip and jump from being a full-fledged Catholic.

  11. laura754 says:

    and now he unfortunately jumped into the fires of you know where. how sad.

    Sue, I am so happy for the way in which God has worked in your life!

    Well since the protestant and baptist churches are seeking ecumenical relations with Rome, that would explain their new obsession with Lewis.

    I bet today one can’t tell the difference between a Catholic bookstore and a ‘Christian’ bookstore. They both sell about the same garbage.

  12. kittykit says:

    Guys, I just keep thinking about all the stuff that Xavier says…and how catholic doctrine is so engrained…and well he articulates what the church teaches…and how convincing he sounds…and how many people have been deceived and are going to hell, and just can’t understand.

    I guess my point in saying this is that it is going to be so so easy to unite everyone. People don’t want to read the Bible for themselves. They want it spoon fed to them, complete with interpretation…and they refuse to stand firm in the doctrines already delivered by the Holy Spirit.

    So many tools of satan out there.

    Pray for me. I feel like I have lost patience.

  13. laura754 says:

    So true, the deception grows from a famine of the Word of God. Unity is more important than being a Berean and at least trying to CHECK the Word to see if what the leaders are saying is ok with God.

    well my dear Kit, you may be losing patience,
    but at least you have not lost your focus.
    Your eyes are on Jesus and the true gospel.

Leave a Reply

