~At Calvary~


This is the very first Christian Hymn I learned and sang.

Back in the summer of 1965.

The sweet thing is that I was 11 yo. And my younger sister

and I were new to the neighborhood. One neighborhood

family behind us invited us over to play in their yard.

We played on the swing set with the Reedy’s  for hours. And they

loved to sing! This is the first song they taught a couple of

Catholic girls who didn’t know any better.  LOL

When my sister and I went home for dinner, my mother

said, ‘That’s a Protestant song’. I ‘knew’ they were wrong

because they weren’t Catholic.  But there was something about

that song, and their brief explanation of trusting Christ.

I didn’t understand this ‘trusting Christ’.

And I didn’t understand the meaning of the song till 10 years later.

But before being saved in 1975, I would often sing it in my little deceived heart.

And in all my Catholic schooling, I had no clue what these meant:

‘grace was free’,

‘pardon there was multiplied to me’,

‘burdened soul’,

‘liberty’,

‘God’s Word’,

‘trembled at the law I’d spurned’,

‘guilty soul imploring’,

‘raptured soul’,

‘salvation’s plan’,

‘grace that brought it down to man’,

‘mighty gulf that God did span’,

Here it is, with music but no singing.

by William R. Newell and Daniel B. Towner

http://nethymnal.org/htm/a/t/atcalvry.htm

Years I spent in vanity and pride,
Caring not my Lord was crucified,
Knowing not it was for me He died on Calvary.

Refrain

Mercy there was great, and grace was free;
Pardon there was multiplied to me;
There my burdened soul found liberty at Calvary.

By God’s Word at last my sin I learned;
Then I trembled at the law I’d spurned,
Till my guilty soul imploring turned to Calvary.

Refrain

Now I’ve given to Jesus everything,
Now I gladly own Him as my King,
Now my raptured soul can only sing of Calvary!

Refrain

Oh, the love that drew salvation’s plan!
Oh, the grace that brought it down to man!
Oh, the mighty gulf that God did span at Calvary!

Refrain

About laura754

Saved by His undeserved mercy
This entry was posted in Catholic and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to ~At Calvary~

  1. Pearl says:

    I love this one, too, Laura! They play it every now & then on BBN radio, and when I hear it, it sticks with me for days (I’m a total song magnet! It’s a terrible affliction, really: keep those Barney or Veggie Tales songs far from my ears….).

    But, yeah, this is one of those that always puts a skip in my step.

    Beautiful post! Luv you sweet thing.

  2. dgree says:

    Thanks for the link, beautiful song, this is the first time I’ve heard it.

    When I was a Catholic I used to think that grace was another word for the indulgences you had to work for. 14 years of catholic school and never heard the word “salvation”.

  3. laura754 says:

    Hey there Pearl!
    I got inspired by the hymn that Kari posted today.

    Everyone:
    meet ~’degree’~
    my beautiful cousin!

  4. mamaharper says:

    Love this laura, it’s beautiful and thank you! I loved the Hymn Lunice posted, did Kari post one too? We have a hard time keeping up with each other, especially me. This was a blessing, just like knowing all you girls.

  5. laura754 says:

    yep. it was lunice. I am just going crazy with keeping you gal’s straight!! LOL
    Kari had the prayer request. 😉
    you keep me in line, B

  6. lunice89 says:

    Hey guys! I love the hymn, I am finding great encouragement from these old hymn’s. I have to confess, I used to think these old hymn’s were boring and stuffy and when we started going to Pastor Jeff’s church I thought at first, Oh no they sing hymn’s there is no contemporary music. Well they have sure grown on me, and I have never heard a bunch of people sing hymn’s with such joy as I have at Elizabeth Baptist, there is just something different about them when they are sung from the heart with joy and meaning. I have been singing all day in my head “He lives! He lives! Christ Jesus lives today! He walks with me and talks with me along life’s narrow way. He lives! He lives! Salvation to impart! You ask me how I know He lives? He lives within my heart.

  7. mamaharper says:

    I love that one too Lunice, lol Laura I will keep you in line. I think the difference Lunice is these Hymns are considered sacred music as opposed to modern worship because they are based on scripture…big difference. There is theology in the words as opposed to just emotion. I like some modern music too but it’s just not the same.

  8. Pearl says:

    Hi, Dgree!

    So good to know you, and that you’re family too!

    I read your comment with heaviness in my soul…that is just heartbreaking. But how wonderful that you’ve been called out by Jesus Christ alone and found true grace, and rest, peaceful rest from all works. It is finished!

    I hope we get to know you like we’ve gotten to know Laura.
    Bless you both.

    Pearl

  9. laura754 says:

    you all, dgree is the sweetest woman and a super Grandma! We always have wonderful fellowship in Him.

    Lunice, I love that song:He Lives- I have only ever heard it at the Assembly of God when I attended for a bit. What a great song.

    MamaH, I like some modern songs too, and like you really am seeing the big diff between the scriptually based hymns and most modern songs.
    I noticed that in the last 4 years now, since I quit going to church, I miss singing hymns, but I don’t miss much of the other stuff.

  10. mamaharper says:

    It’s nice meeting you dgree! This is a wonderful blog and it’s so amazing the God of the Universe has decided to call us His children. These old songs to me, represent all the old saints and the beauty of their worship during immense hardships. I love them!!!

  11. sueliz1 says:

    Thank you Laura! xoxo

  12. dgree says:

    Thank you Laura for the nice compliments and thank you all for the warm welcome.

    Pearl, yes, it is wonderful that Jesus has made me His own and I am so grateful that He used my precious cousin Laura to show me the truth. Laura has prayed for me for many, many years and always kept on top of what I was getting into (false religions). She is a major blessing in my life and she has more wisdom than any one I know.

    Looking forward to being on this site and getting to know all of you.

  13. sueliz1 says:

    Any friend of Laura’s is a friend of mine. 🙂

  14. kittykit says:

    Here Here! 🙂

  15. dgree says:

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

